APC Primary: Umahi Wins Ebonyi South Senatorial Rerun-Election

APC Primary: Umahi Wins Ebonyi South Senatorial Rerun-Election

Governor David Nweze Umahi was yesterday declared the winner of the APC rescheduled Primary election for Ebonyi South Senatorial Zone.

The election took place at Afikpo North Local Government Headquarters, Afikpo, on Sunday.

Declaring the results, the returning Officer for the election, Professor Emmanuel Adebayo Kehinde, said Governor Umahi polled 250 out of 275 votes to beat four other aspirants in the Primary.

He said the first runner up, Austin Chukwu Umahi, got 10 votes while Mrs. Nwanyibuife Ann Agomeze scored zero votes. Mrs. Lilian Margaret Ibiam and Mrs. Chukwu Elizabeth Nwakego scored 3 and 5 votes respectively.

“By the powers conferred on me as the Returning Officer of this election, I hereby declare and affirm that David Nweze Umahi having scored 250 out of 275 votes, which is the highest number of votes, is hereby returned winner of this election,” he said.

In his acceptance speech, Governor David Umahi said: “First, let me thank the entire people of Ebonyi State who defied the rain to come and witness this election.

“This ticket is a very serious ticket.

We have nothing to say yet and I want to thank all of you and accept this honour done to me first by God, Ebonyi people and the Delegates.”

A press statement by Chooks Oko, the Special Assistant to Governor Dave Umahi, (Media and Strategy), recalled that “the rerun followed recent judgement by the Abakaliki Federal High Court on the withdrawal of all previous aspirants.

Oko said the court had earlier given APC and the Independent National Electoral Commission 14 days to conduct the election.”