2023: Intrigues As APC Screens Presidential Aspirants Tuesday

2023: Intrigues As APC Screens Presidential Aspirants Tuesday

The Progressives Congress (APC) presidential aspirants will be screened on Tuesday at the Conference Hall of Transcorp, Abuja by a panel of seven members drawn one each from the six zones plus National Working Committee (NWC) Chairman Abdullahi Adamu.

Earlier report said APC’s NWC set up the “Presidential Screening Committee (PSC) to examine the documents, background, and suitability of the 24, out of the 28 aspirants, who submitted their nomination forms by the deadline of 13 May 2022.”

But according to the APC National Organising Secretary, Sulaiman Arugungu, the screening was shifted from Monday to Tuesday.

He was quoted as explaining that: Those who have announced withdrawal from the contest but have not formally informed the party may be included in the exercise.

“As far as the party is concerned, of all the 28 aspirants that paid and picked the forms for the nomination as presidential aspirants, nobody has formally written to us that he has withdrawn his aspiration.

“All the forms of the 28 aspirants will be taken to the screening committee, not tomorrow (Monday), but on Tuesday, God willing, at Transcop Hilton Hotel,” he said.

List of those who submitted forms to contest for the ticket of APC in the presidential election and who may be screened tomorrow include:

Yemi Osibanjo – Vice President
Ben Ayade – Cross River Governor,
Dave Umahi – Ebonyi Governor,
Kayode Fayemi – Ekiti Governor,
Yahaya Bello – Kogi Governor,
Mohammed Abubakar – Jigawa Governor,
Ahmed Lawal – Senate President,
Ajayi Boroffice – Senator,
Senator Rochas Okorocha – former Imo Governor, Senator
Ibikunle Amosun – former Ogun Governor, Senator
Bola Tinubu – former Lagos Governor,
Ahmed Yerima – former Zamfara Governor,
Ken Nnamani – former Senate President,
Dimeji Bankole – former House of Representatives Speaker,
Rotimi Amaechi – former Rivers Governor and Transportation Minister,
Godswill Akpabio, former Akwa Ibom Governor and Niger Delta Minister,
Ogbonnaya Onu – former Abia State Governor and Science and Technology Minister,
Ikeobasi Mokelu – former Information Minister
Emeka Nwajiuba – former Education Minister of State
Akinwumi Adesina – AfDB President,
Tunde Bakare, among others.

It would be recalled however that APC National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, said on Channels Television last week that aspirants who did not submit their nomination forms at the deadline are
Chris Ngige – Labour, Employment and Productivity Minister,
Timipre Sylva – Petroleum Resources Minister of State and
Godwin Emefiele – Central Bank of Nigeria Governor.

NewsOrient observes that various stakeholders in the party are specially concerned over the likely outcome of the exercise.